Mockingjay Explained

This is a long overdue post actually. I was suppose to have it out before the Hunger Games movie. Anyway, I felt there was a need to explain the meaning and the ending of the last book. I’ve seen so much posts how everyone hated it. I had the same sentiments until I read forums on it. Suzanne Collins intended the trilogy to be a war series for her father, who was a veteran. In wars, there is no real winner because of the horrors the survivors have experienced. I thought the book would have a happy ending where they’ll beat the bad guys and come out as heroes. But there’s no such grand thing in reality.

If you noticed there was no one that could really be spared from the death. We have Finnick, who was strong and already experienced in the battlefield. It was so cruel since he left Annie all alone. We have Madge, who is privileged and rich. Finally, we have Prim, who was a young innocent life and a whole future ahead of her.

After killing President Coin, Katniss decided to go back to District 12. It was a wasteland, literally. A perfect imagery to how she is feeling. She had difficulty accepting everything that happened. They made have won but at the expense of so much pain. The reason her mother left was that she couldn’t bear to remember that pain. She rather be useful in another district, a definite growth in contrast to her husband’s death. As for Gale, I know a lot of people were disappointed that he left. But he knew Katniss would never forgive him, since the bomb was one of his traps. Rather causing her more pain and anger at the fact her best friend– the very person who promised her that he’ll take care of her family, was the one who took part in killing them instead. Peeta’s return was late but it was timely. He too suffered from the war and needed to recover. Once he did, the first thing he made sure to do was to take care of Katniss. How else can you help someone if you can’t help yourself? I really think Collins thought it through except the execution was rather shaky.

Of course, Mockingjay isn’t without fault. There were rough patches along the book that I wish Collins spent more time writing. I wouldn’t mind waiting. The gap between the release of Catching Fire and Mockingjay was barely a year. I don’t think you can flesh out the substantial details in that short amount of time. Either way, even if the last book isn’t a bestseller, the meaning still is.

I particularly loved the last paragraph of the book. I actually re-read it several times.

On the night I feel that thing again, the hunger that overtook me on the beach, I know this would have happened anyway. That what I need to survive is not Gale’s fire, kindled with rage and hatred. I have plenty of fire myself. What I need is the dandelion in the spring. The bright yellow that means rebirth instead of destruction. The promise that life can go on, no matter how bad our losses. That it can be good again. And only Peeta can give me that.

So after, when he whispers,“You love me. Real or not real?”

I tell him, “Real.”

It was simple, direct and beautiful. In a world where you don’t know whom to trust, you’re filled with so much negativity. But because hope and love still exists in the world, we can move forward.

Side note: This trilogy review from other blogger might interest you. It’s a nice contrast to what I have written.

2 thoughts on “Mockingjay Explained

Leave a Reply

