Anime Movie Marathon

Since it’s close to Labor Day- meaning a holiday off, I gave myself a chance to watch three of the most loved anime movies there is namely: Grave of the FirefliesHotarubi no Mori e and Summer Wars. Each gave me a different thrill while watching. They are all worth recommending!

_________________________________________________________________________

Grave of the Fireflies

Expectations:  Indifference

Verdict: Good

A friend recommended this, saying it was a good film. I’ve seen the film’s poster but I didn’t think the focus was World War II.  I was curious how it was in the point of view of the Japanese. They apparently experienced the same thing as other countries did. The horrors at that time period was described in a such sad tone. From the air raids to the rations, etc. The main characters, Seita and Setsuko, being children should have been enjoying life but instead they have to be wary. The imagery with the fireflies was just beautiful. It truly depicted the tiny hope in a world covered in despair. I think it was a simple way of telling a painful time. Of course, this was shown back in 1988- heck, I wasn’t even born yet, so obviously the animation and character sketch are not at par with the ones of today. Although that shouldn’t stop you from missing a rivevting portrayal of the war.

Hotarubi no Mori e

Expectations: Moderate

Verdict: Great!

I was browsing through MAL’s top animes and surprisingly this was included in the top 30. I got curious and read through the synopsis. It reminded me of Natsume Yuujinchou, which  is one of my favorite animes so I decided to watch it. But of course I found out it was the same manga-ka who created this. For a short 44 minute movie, I can say it was just amazing. The beauty of the passage of time, growing up and falling in love. It was poignant and direct to the point. I don’t want to ruin the story especially since anything I divulge might give away the meaning. I just want to say the ending brought this chilling feel. I was so hit in the gut that I kept replaying the scene over and over my head. Just watch it to be amazed!

Summer Wars

Expectations:  Moderate

Verdict: Goods

 Popular crunchyroll users, particularly Chrome_Mist has been recommending this in several forum posts already. I trust her comments on animes. Plus, I heard it’s like they created a whole new different world in this movie, which fascinates me. This sort of reminded of the Digimon Adventure: Bokura no War Game, no surprise there since it had the same director. I can’t properly explain this quirky movie well except you’ll definitely be glued to your seat due the suspense. What was an unassuming game in the OZ virtual world turns out to be a save the world mission! You’ve got a crazy big family to help you out in that situation. I basically like the changes we’ve seen in our main characters. This movie something you shouldn’t miss out on.

4 thoughts on “Anime Movie Marathon

  1. I’ve seen and literally cried on Grave of the Fireflies at the end. Yes, it was old style and felt too long at times but it was worth it in the end! 🙂
    And Im intrigued by the second title you’ve suggested! Ill definitely check it out! 🙂

    P.S. Thanks for the banner! Let me know if theres ever anything I can do for you, I’d love to! 😉

    • Tell me how you like it 😉 You can probably help me out in my story. I’m writing a new one. I hope I can posted soon. But anyway, you don’t need to do much. It’s fun having you as a friend and visiting your awesome website as it is! 😀

      • Aww, thank you so much for your kind words! Personally, I’m also happy every time I hear from you! It;s one of the benefits of blogging, you get to make wonderful friends! Oh, n my real name is Mariah! 🙂

        I’d love to help out anyway I can so let me know whatever you need! ^^ I’ve also got some writing tips I got from an old friend which helped me out a lot. We can share them if you want! As for the banner, I simply LOVE it! 😉

Leave a Reply

