The Way Home Impressions

jib-pic

This was recommended by a crunchyroll friend, jackiely73. I’ve decided to check it out because of Yoo Seung Ho (Operation Proposal). He was the best child actor of his time, just as Yeo Jin Goo is right now. I’m curious on his acting since I’ve seen drama blogs who are familiar with him say it’s so nice seeing him grow up.

Yeah, just look at THAT transformation.

 Anyway, was the child Yoo Seung Ho able to deliver the movie well?

Expectations: Moderate

Verdict: Good

Summary: 10-year old Sang Woo was sent to live with his maternal mute grandmother living in a very remote province. He is very uncooperative and hates living there.

Thoughts: I was preparing myself for some waterworks since a lot of the comments say they cried so much in this film. Too bad I have a heart of stone so it didn’t happen for me.  I must say that this is the first time I’ve encountered a very dialogue-less film. Either way, the focus of this whole movie was the relationship of Sang Woo and his grandmother. I wasn’t close to my grandparents but this movie makes me appreciate them a little bit more. Sang Woo was a spoilt kid who hated being with his embarrassing grandmother. But in spite of that, she was patient and tried to give him what he wanted even if she doesn’t have much. That’s what struck me- We are cared for even if we fail to see. This is what a grandmother’s unconditional love means.

I actually didn’t get the meaning of the movie, but I know I will in the future. This reminded me of the feeling I got while watching the anime film, 5 Centimeters Per Second. I didn’t understand it the first time I watched it although after a few years when it suddenly came to my mind, the meaning just hit me. It was one of the most beautiful message that I’ve come across. The Way Home evokes similar sentiments for me. 

Just to add a little trivia, since I did a little research. It’s apparently the second highest grossing film next to My Sassy Girl back in 2002. It gained good critical reception especially for the woman who acted as the grandmother. Apparently that woman didn’t even know what a movie was! So imagine she was able to portray all of this?

Leave a Reply

