Summer Anime 2012 Preview

Yay! It’s the time for another season of anime previews. In my experiences with the past years, summer season is the weakest for animes. Surprisingly, there were many titles that caught my interest. It’s probably continuing the success of the last season. Some of which are continuing their runs, including the ones I love: Uchuu Kyoudai and Hyouka!

c/o Neregate

Arcana Famigilia

Arcana Famiglia

  • Genre: Action, Fantasy, Romance
  • Producer: J.C. Staff
  • TV Station: TV Kanagawa
  • Director: Kon Chiaki
  • Writer: Akahoshi Masanao
  • Will start in July 1, 2012
  • Number of episode: Unknown
Summary: This is the story of Felicita, a girl who lives on the island of Regalo. The island is protected by a group of people called the Arcana Famiglia, a family of psychic people.
Thoughts: Whenever I hear the word Famigilia, I’m reminded of KHR. I can’t explain why I’m into this anime except for that particular word piqued me. But I’m curious as to why they need to protect the island with psychic powers. Basically there’s a lot of intrigue to keep me happy.
Preview:

Aruvu Rezuru: Kikai Jikake no Yousei-tachi

  • Genre: Adventure, Science-fiction
  • Producer: ZEXCS
  • TV Station: Nico Nico Douga/BS11
  • Director:
  • Writer:
  • Will start in July 2, 2012
  • Number of episode: Unknown
Summary: In a futuristic world, Remu tries to finds his sister’s soul lost in net space.
Thoughts: I wanted to try sci-fi theme. Plus it seemed like a nice companion with Sword Art Online.
Preview: None available

Bimbougami ga!

  • Genre: Adventure, Comedy, Fantasy, Magic, Supernatural
  • Producer: Sunrise
  • TV Station: TV Tokyo
  • Director:
  • Writer:
  • Will start in July 5, 2012
  • Number of episode: Unknown
Summary: Sakura Ichiko is a 16 years old beautiful and intelligent girl. She has the power to make people happy with ”Happiness Energy”, but at the cost of absorbing the ”Happiness Energy” around her. Because of that she is targeted by Momiji, a god who’s goal is to remove Ichiko’s power and return all the ”Happiness Energy” she took to it’s rightful place.
Thoughts: I’m only watching for the supernatural aspect. Plus I’m hoping to get ideas for one of my stories.
Preview: None available

Chouyaku Hyakuninisshu: Uta Koi

  • Genre: Historical, Josei
  • Producer: TYO Animations
  • TV Station: TV Tokyo
  • Director: Kasai Kenichi
  • Writer: Konparu Tomoko
  • Will start in July 2, 2012
  • Number of episode:
Summary: The interpretation of 100 romantic poems from 100 diferent poets
Thoughts: I only decided to pick this up because of my love for Chihayafuru, which focuses on karuta. To be able to understand the poems behind those cards, aside from what Kana-chan has given will just add to the beauty of that anime. I even considered learning kurata because of Chihayafuru. Another reason why this will be good is that the demographic is josei. Josei works are realistic and poignant to watch. So I’m all in for this.
Preview:

Natsuyuki Rendezvous

  • Genre: Drama, Romance, Supernatural, Josei
  • Producer: Dogakobo
  • TV Station: Fuji TV
  • Director: Matsuo Kou
  • Writer: TBA
  • Will start in July 6, 2012
  • Number of episode: 11
Summary: Hazuki is a part-timer in a flower shop own by Rokia. He falls in love with her, but then he discovers that in her apartment lives the spirit of a man she can’t forget.
Thoughts: I have a thing for supernatural stories, naturally the hijinks on the spirit just hooked me right away. The fact this is a noitiminA series, I’m assured it won’t be a long running kind of anime. I love noitiminA so much ever since Sakamichi no Apollon so no harm in trying this new anime in their block.
Preview:

Oda Nobuna no Yabou

  • Genre: Comedy, Historical, Romance
  • Producer: Studio Gokumi / Madhouse
  • TV Station: TV Tokyo
  • Director: Kumazawa Yuuji
  • Writer: Suzuki Masashi
  • Will start in July 8, 2012
  • Number of episode: Unknown
Summary: Sagara Yoshiharu, a 17 year old high schooler, travels back in time to the Sengoku era only to discover that all the major samurai lords are girls.
Thoughts: I wanted a contrast to Hiiro no Kakera, which is boring me to death. I think a harem kind of anime is what I need to turn things around. Plus samurai lords are girls = feminist movement!
Preview:
 

Sword Art Online

  • Genre:Action, Adventure, Fantasy, Game, Romance
  • Producer: A-1 Pictures
  • TV Station: Tokyo MX
  • Director: Ito Tomohiko
  • Writer: TBA
  • Will start in July 7, 2012
  • Number of episode: 24 (not confirmed)
Summary: Kazuto Kirigaya is a genius programmer who enters a virtual-reality MMO called Sword Art Online. In this game, “game over” means death for the player and the only way for Kazuto to get out of the game is to clear it.
Thoughts: I wanted to get into the sci-fi genre more so I decided to pick it up. Little did I know, that it’s one of summer’s most anticipated anime. All I want from this show is awesome animation, then I’ll be it’s slave. But knowing, it’s a strategy and survival type, I’m pretty sure I’ll get hooked in no time.
Preview:

Tari Tari

  • Genre: School
  • Producer: P.A. Works
  • TV Station: TV Kanagawa
  • Director and Writer: Hashimoto Masakozu
  • Will start in July 2, 2012
  • Number of episode: Unknown
Summary: During their last summer in high school, Wakana, Konatsu and Sawa are all brough together by music.
Thoughts: I immediately jumped along board this anime when 1) I heard P.A. Works will be animating this! They did an awesome job with Hanasaku Iroha, so I know they won’t disappoint. 2) Seto Asami, the seiyuu of Chihaya in Chihayafuru will be lending her voice for in this anime!
Preview:
Leave a Reply

